Skip to main content
#
 
rss feedemail usour twitterour facebook page pintrestlinkdin
Home
Economic Development News
Magazine
Conference & Expo List
Target Industry Directory 2018
Advertise With Us
About Us

State, Provincial, & International Reviews

Thursday, March 22 2018

By Empire State Development, New York State’s chief economic development agency

In 2017, New York State continued to advance the state’s innovation economy, creating increased opportunity across the state. Through strategic investments, and working with regional stakeholders, New York is building economies from the ground up, supporting Governor Andrew Cuomo’s holistic approach to economic development. We’re making strategic place-based investments in revitalizing our downtowns and cities, developing the state’s workforce, supporting tradable sectors with incentives for companies to grow here and fostering innovation through industry-university partnerships. And our approach is working; diverse businesses, from start-ups to Fortune 500 companies, are launching here, moving here and thriving here. 

That’s all against a background of positive economic growth and opportunity in New York State. Private sector jobs are up, tax and unemployment rates are down and wages and personal income have risen. Between 2011 and 2017, private employers across New York State added nearly 1.4 million jobs.  

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 10:25 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Wednesday, November 29 2017

By Empire State Development

Upstate New York was once a powerhouse of industry, with traditional manufacturing employing tens of thousands of people and serving as the economic engine for entire communities. Today, we’ve entered a new era of innovation. This is the new New York, a state of opportunity where we are investing in the growth of the 21st century economy, supporting the businesses and industries that represent the jobs of tomorrow. 

We’re already seeing results – by attracting global leaders in fields such as nanotechnology, photonics, advanced manufacturing and clean energy; and at the same time, establishing thriving hubs for 21st century industries throughout New York State, from Buffalo to Long Island and everywhere in between. Through years of deliberate fiscal discipline, New York has achieved the lowest tax rates in a generation, lowest unemployment in years, and added close to one million private sector jobs since 2011. 

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 11:19 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Friday, March 24 2017

By: Empire State Development, New York State’s chief economic development agency
 
New York State continued to build its leadership in 2016, with Empire State Development, under the guidance of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, focusing on economic development that attracts business, creates jobs and advances infrastructure improvements – all of which are critical to progress. Through an inclusive, regional approach that involves public and private stakeholders from across the state, New York is making strategic investments in innovation, infrastructure and key industries in order to ensure we remain on the path of economic growth and upward mobility for all. 

A home is only as good as its foundation and, last year, New York made major investments to strengthen ours. We are making a historic $100 billion investment in infrastructure – in airports, bridges, regional transportation systems, and more – from Buffalo to Long Island, to advance our efforts to build a new New York. That focus has been supplemented by significant investments in our communities through initiatives designed to spur revitalization in downtowns and rejuvenate main streets and urban centers, making Upstate towns and cities more attractive to young people, residents and businesses.

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 08:15 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Wednesday, November 23 2016

By Empire State Development, New York State’s chief economic development agency

For many years, Upstate New York was losing jobs and its population was dwindling in large part to the shift to a global economy that saw manufacturing and other jobs head out-of-state and overseas. Today, under the leadership and vision of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, the Upstate economy is in the middle of a resurgence, with businesses growing and generating economic opportunities in communities - from Western New York and the Southern Tier to the North Country and Mid-Hudson regions.

“New York State is at its best when our public and private sectors come together to support economic development, spur job creation, and invest in the success of our future generations,” said Empire State Development President, CEO & Commissioner Howard Zemsky. “It is our academic, business and community leaders who truly know what each region needs to succeed and we are proud to work with the regional councils to help build a sustainable economy across the entire state.”

Much of this is due to the regional focus on economic development that Governor Cuomo implemented in 2011, which has redefined the way New York invests in jobs and economic development – creating a bottom-up process that empowers regional stakeholders to develop and implement strategic plans that have served as roadmaps for growth.

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 09:52 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Tuesday, March 15 2016

By Empire State Development, New York State’s Chief Economic Development Agency
 
When it comes to economic development, New York State had a strong year in 2015 and is off to a great start in 2016. By the end of last year, New York was a better place to live, work and run a business, than in 2014 — and in a significantly-better position than only a few short years ago.

Decades of government dysfunction and overspending had taken a toll on the Empire State, resulting in sky-high taxes that forced businesses out and young people away, and kept the state’s credit ratings down. However, New York State has been a national leader on a wide range of issues, ever since the American flag had only 13 stars. At the very foundation, New  York was built to lead. Governor Andrew M. Cuomo took that to heart when he came into office in 2011, on the heels of the Great Recession, making the economy his top priority, including improving the business climate to spur and attract private sector investment and job creation across the state.

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 08:15 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Friday, December 04 2015

By Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

For many years, Upstate New York was treated like a second-class citizen, forced to watch Downstate thrive as the Upstate economy dwindled. Upstate was literally losing population and jobs - and maybe most importantly, it was losing hope. Much of this was a function of the changing economy, which shifted manufacturing to overseas. Also, some people left Upstate New York for warmer climates in what has become a more mobile society. But, it is just as true that the New York state's policies contributed to the decline and the state did little to assist in Upstate's transition to a new economy.

Four years ago we embarked on what many considered was a fool's errand, trying to rebuild the Upstate economy. When I first announced our plans, the media and our citizens viewed the intention and possibility cynically. We carried on nonetheless. Today, any objective source would admit significant progress has been made. Even the skeptics are startled.

We started on the toughest economic terrain, Buffalo. Today, evidence of a Buffalo renaissance is irrefutable. Just weeks ago, the Buffalo News Editorial Board said, "While Buffalonians have never been accused of being wildly optimistic, especially since the end of the heyday of Bethlehem Steel, even the most jaded has to admit change is in the air."

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 10:31 am   |  Permalink   |  Email
Wednesday, March 18 2015

When Governor Andrew Cuomo took office in January 2011, the state’s economy was in terrible condition: taxes and spending were too high, and businesses and jobs were leaving New York. However, a lot can change in a few short years, and under Governor Cuomo’s leadership, New York has made significant progress, cutting red tape and tackling the challenges that have stunted the state’s economic potential far too long. We have been dedicated to implementing a comprehensive economic development strategy to reverse these trends and it has produced strong results: the creation and retention of hundreds of thousands of jobs, the transformation of a $10 billion deficit into a multi-billion dollar surplus, and lower taxes for all businesses and New Yorkers.

In January, the Governor combined his State of the State address and Executive Budget proposal to outline a bold and comprehensive agenda for New York State. Geared towards continuing the state’s forward momentum and ensuring that New York is a place people want to live and do business, we are creating a “State of Opportunity” where companies are thriving and industries are flourishing, creating critical private sector jobs for hard-working New Yorkers.

Posted by: Nicole@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com AT 12:22 pm   |  Permalink   |  Email
Share this story
Twitter
Facebook
LinkedIn
Site Mailing List 

Expansion Solutions is a worldwide service of Cornett Publishing Co., Inc. ©2018, all rights reserved. 
Our content is from many sources and not warranted to be accurate or current. 
For general inquiries, email: info@ExpansionSolutionsMagazine.com